Skip to main content
Keep Your Business Open During COVID-19Learn More
Call us
Phone numbers and hours
Help Center

Explore our online help resources

BlogHelp

Managed WordPress Ecommerce Help

What is In-Person Catalog Sync for GoDaddy Payments Selling in Person?

If you're using a GoDaddy Payments Selling in Person Smart Terminal, you can now sync your WooCommerce products to your terminal and vice versa. In this guide, we’ll show you how to set up syncing, what product data you can sync, and how to unsync products from your Smart Terminal's catalogs.

Required: This feature is currently only available for GoDaddy Payments account owners that have configured and activated the Selling in Person payment method. Learn more here.

Select a subject below:

How do I sync my WooCommerce and Selling in Person products?

To start syncing your products between WooCommerce and your In-Person catalog(s):

  1. Sign in to WordPress.
  2. Navigate to WooCommerce > Settings > Payments.
  3. Click Manage button on the GoDaddy Payments - Selling in Person payment method.
  4. Scroll down to the In-Person Catalog Sync section where you can activate product syncing. Note that product syncing is deactivated by default.

Note: A catalog is automatically created on the Payments hub when you first enable the Selling in Person payment method. It uses your shop’s name and is the default catalog that you can use for the sync process.

To sync WooCommerce products to your In-Person catalog(s):

  1. Toggle the Sync WooCommerce products to In-Person field to enable this sync.
  2. Select the catalog(s) that you’d like to sync.
  3. Click Save changes.

To sync In-Person products to WooCommerce:

  1. Toggle the Sync In-Person products to WooCommerce field to enable this sync.
  2. Select the catalog(s) that you’d like to sync products to. All products in the selected catalog(s) will be synced to WooCommerce.
  3. Click Save changes.

You can enable both sync routes or only the one you prefer. A Connected badge will appear to let you know the connection has been successful.

Pro Tip: Use the All catalogs option to sync all of the In-Person catalogs instead of selecting them individually.

Products and product updates will continue to sync as long as the catalog sync is enabled and connected. Products are synced bi-directionally and will be automatically updated on both your shop and all selected catalogs. No further action is needed on your part after syncing is enabled.

If the connection fails, a Disconnected badge will appear next to the catalog(s) that’s affected. To learn more, hover over the disconnected badge to help you troubleshoot the issue. You may need to reach out to our Care team or enable and review the debug log for the GoDaddy Payments payment gateway.

If one or more products fail to sync, an error message will appear in the settings page to inform you of the issue and next steps.

(Back to top.)

What product data is synced between my stores?

The In-Person Catalog sync is bi-directional. That means that products and data will be synced in both directions automatically without having to trigger the sync manually after it has been connected.

As each platform supports different data, there are some differences with what product types and fields are synced.

WooCommerce to In-Person sync

WooCommerce products are synced to the In-Person catalog(s) when they meet the following requirements:

  • They have the Simple product type
  • They are Published
  • Their visibility is set to Public

Note: Only Simple products will be synced to your Smart Terminal.

You can make changes to your product settings in your WooCommerce shop by following the instructions in this guide.

The following data is synced for qualifying products:

  • Product name
  • Product price
  • Product SKU
  • Product attributes (name and value)

For product attributes, the attribute name and value will be synced as an “exactly one” modifier with the corresponding modifier name and modifier value. On a Smart Terminal, an “exactly one” modifier limits the product selection to one option. E.g., Small, Medium, or Large.

Please note that Product Categories are excluded from the sync. After the initial sync, you can find the synced products in your In-Person catalog in the main Products list. Manually add them to the categories you wish to use on your Smart Terminal.

In-Person to WooCommerce sync

All In-Person catalog products are synced to WooCommerce unless they have the following traits:

  • The product uses “any combination” modifiers
  • The product has “custom price” enabled

The following data is synced for qualifying products:

  • Product name
  • Product price
  • Product SKU (Note: if the SKU already exists in your WooCommerce shop, the In-Person entry will be ignored.)
  • The product’s modifier name and option name

If a product uses modifiers, it will only be synced to WooCommerce if it uses the “exactly one” modifier type. For instance, a product with the “exactly one” modifier of “Size” and the option names “Small”, “Medium”, and “Large” will be synced to WooCommerce with the corresponding product attributes.

The following In-Person product data is not synced to WooCommerce:

  • Custom price
  • UPC
  • Modifier value: Price
  • Product Categories

Product Categories are excluded from this sync direction. After the initial sync you can find the synced products in the Uncategorized category in WooCommerce. Manually add them to the categories you wish to use in your store.

Synced products will also have the following product traits within WooCommerce:

  • Their status will be Published
  • Their visibility will be Public
  • Their Manage stock setting will be Disabled
  • Their Stock status will be In-stock

You can adjust the above settings per synced product in WooCommerce, based on your product and inventory needs.

Synced products will have a badge in their Product data > General tab.

(Back to top.)

How can I unsync and delete products between my shops?

Unsyncing products from your shops can be done from your WordPress admin dashboard by navigating to the GoDaddy Payments - Selling in Person settings page. In the respective fields, there a few ways to proceed:

  • Switch off the connection: Disabling the connection of one of the syncing directions will stop the real-time syncing of products.
  • Remove a catalog: f you remove a catalog from one of the fields, then that specific catalog will no longer be automatically updated when changes are made.

In both cases, synced products will not be deleted from any of the previously synced catalogs and any removals will need to be done manually.

Deleting synced products

While the connection is enabled, deleting a synced product from one shop will delete it from the other shop. For example, if you trash a product in your WooCommerce store while the product is synced, and the connection is active, then you will be informed that this action will delete the product on the Smart Terminal as well.

(Back to top.)

Related Steps

More info