Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Installing a wildcard certificate

Hi All,

So I have to admit from the start I am a complete novice when it comes to the world of SSL certificates.

I was asked to buy an SSL certificate for one of our servers, so I went to the GoDaddy website and bought a wildcard certificate for about £200. I was provided with a couple of text files one something like generatedprivatekey.txt and another something like generatedcsr.txt and then we had to verify ownership of the domain. I've no idea what i'm supposed to do with the two text files btw and nothing in any guide then or since has told me that I need to do anything with them. 

Having confirmed domain ownership I was then able to download a .zip file which contained a .crt, .pem and a .p7b file and helpfully I thought there was a guide to install on IIS which I proceeded to follow.

Having installed the .p7b file in the intermediate section of certificate manager I then as directed completed the csr in IIS, went to bindings to bind my https site to the newly purchased certificate.

Unfortunately the certificate was in the drop down box for me to select and the csr I'd just created had vanished. I understand that this was due to the crt file I was using not having a private key i.e. no key symbol by the side of it.

Someone then pointed out that I should have done a CSR on IIS first and used that to get the cert from GoDaddy, but from memory I don't think I was ever asked for it. It was only after Rekeying the cert that I was able to paste in the CSR text and then download a crt that had a key which I was able to import and then export as a pfx and then use that to complete the csr in IIS and attach it to the website.