• GoDaddy Community
  • Managed WordPress Hosting
  • Managed WordPress Hosting

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 
    Go to solution

How do I reset managed WordPress to its initial state?

I need to reset my managed wordpress site to its original settings.

I'm a newbie to wordpress and am trying to build a website using a purchased theme.

I have somehow managed to screw up everything by importing demo content one to many times and then deleting certain pages. 

Can I do it myself or do i need to contact support?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hey @Appleised,

I believe that I have found the solution.
    and @JMPepper, Sorry in advanced if this was what you were interpreting, I did not understand what you were meaning)

A Just-in-case Disclaimer: Following the steps below will erase all data connected with your WordPress hosting plan and start fresh.

Step 1: Go to your account/purchased products  (Your Account)

Step 2: (Image Steps: Display Step 2😞 Where your WordPress package is click Manage (You may need yo click manage 2 times depending on how many hosting plans you have) 

Step 3: (Image Steps: Display Step 3😞 Review IP and Domain to make sure you're resetting the correct domain >>> Click 3 dots/settings >>> click remove >>> Allow 5-10 minutes before attempting to re-add domain or using /wp-admin

Step 4:  Repeat steps 1 and 2 

Step 5: Click Add site and then follow those steps from there.

• Sub-Step: make sure to check "I'm building a brand new site".

Additionally, If these steps still don't work and you know what the error-causing file is, View this forum for FTP steps and remove the error-causing file.

Best of luck,
    — Joshua 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
    Advocate VII

Hi @Appleised,

Been there, done that!  You have a couple of options.

If you want to keep your theme and options as set now, but without content: